Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



The Bank of East Asia, Limited

(Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability in 1918) (Stock Code: 23)

Voluntary Announcement

Extension of the Term of the Service Contract of the Chief Executive

This is a voluntary announcement made by the Bank.

The Bank is pleased to announce that the service contract of Dr. the Hon. Sir David Li Kwok-po as the Chief Executive of the Bank has been extended for a further term of 3 years commencing from 1st April, 2012 and will expire on 31st March, 2015.

This is a voluntary announcement made by The Bank of East Asia, Limited (the "Bank").

The existing service contract of Dr. the Hon. Sir David Li Kwok-po as the Chief Executive of the Bank (the "**Service Contract**") will expire in March 2012.

The Bank is pleased to announce that the Service Contract has been extended for a further term of 3 years commencing from 1st April, 2012 and will expire on 31st March, 2015. The extension of the term of the Service Contract has been reviewed by the Nomination Committee and approved by the Board of Directors of the Bank.

For and on behalf of The Bank of East Asia, Limited Alson LAW Chun-tak Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 22nd September, 2011

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of Directors of the Bank comprises Dr. the Hon. Sir David LI Kwok-po (Chairman & Chief Executive), Professor Arthur LI Kwok-cheung* (Deputy Chairman), Dr. Allan WONG Chi-yun** (Deputy Chairman), Mr. WONG Chung-hin**, Dr. LEE Shau-kee**, Mr. Aubrey LI Kwok-sing*, Mr. Winston LO Yau-lai**, Tan Sri Dr. KHOO Kay-peng*, Dr. Thomas KWOK Ping-kwong**, Mr. Richard LI Tzar-kai*, Mr. Kenneth LO Chin-ming**, Mr. Eric LI Fook-chuen*, Mr. Stephen Charles LI Kwok-sze*, Mr. William DOO Wai-hoi**, Mr. KUOK Khoon-ean**, Mr. Valiant CHEUNG Kin-piu** and Dr. Isidro FAINÉ CASAS*.

* Non-executive Directors ** Independent Non-executive Directors